Location


The Lamot Conference and Heritage Centre is a multifunctional and integrated house situated at the waterside, in the historic centre of Mechelen.
    img6 

Lamot is a central anchorage in the city of Mechelen and a household name within the local memory. The former brewery, where up until the eighties the legendary Lamot beer was produced, today is one of the most daring feats of contemporary architecture right in the heart of Mechelen.

The old brewery of Lamot was completely renovated between 2000 and 2005. Its bold architecture successfully combined the old and the new; a modern vision of the future with respect for its heritage.

It is this combination that makes Lamot unique. The authenticity of the location symbolises the core value of the services Lamot provides.

In addition, there is the cultural heritage, which is much more than just the building and its past. Lamot provides space for public projects around Mechelen’s cultural heritage. At the same time, Lamot is increasingly becoming a meeting place for (international) reflection and debate within the Flemish heritage sector.

Address: Van Beethovenstraat 8/10, 2800 Mechelen
 

           

Hotel

Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Special rates are obtained.




Address:
Karmelietenstraat 4
2800 Mechelen
Belgium

The metamorphosis from church to 4-star hotel

It’s an art to convert a house of worship into a hotel. Martin’s wanted to preserve the past and still meet the expectations of today’s demanding traveller. It is generally acknowledged that Martin’s Patershof has achieved a fine balance between these two – the hotel can receive travellers looking for an out-of-the-ordinary stay in an exclusive historic setting in ideal circumstances.

The history of Martin’s Patershof began around 1231. The Friar Minors, a Franciscan order, were established in Mechelen at that time – and they were to take an active part in the local life for almost 600 years. but at the end of the 18th century, the Friar Minors (as well as all of the clergy for that matter) were driven out of the city by the French revolutionists. Later, the religious orders – including the Friar Minors – were again permitted to return to Mechelen. They decided to build a new cloister, in neo-Gothic style, in the Heihoekwijk. Their church was constructed under the watchful eye of the Antwerp architect Paul Stoop. During World War II the church was temporarily requisitioned by the Germans. Afterwards, the Friar Minors carried out various renovations and reconstructions, until, at the end of the 1990s, they decided to sell the buildings. In 1999, the complex was deconsecrated and turned into a residential area with gardens by an estate agent.

In 2006, the Martin’s Hotels Group applied for a building permit in order to transform the former church into a 4-star hotel – this ambitious project is unique in Belgium. In June 2009, Martin’s Patershof opened its doors to welcome travellers from all over the world into an extraordinary setting.



 http://www.martinshotels.com/uploads/framing/interest/2537-mphmeeting.jpg http://www.martinshotels.com/uploads/slider/slider_51f7972ed03dd.jpg
http://www.martinshotels.com/uploads/framing/box/1387-roommphgreat2.jpghttp://www.martinshotels.com/uploads/framing/box/1376-roommphcosy.jpghttp://www.martinshotels.com/uploads/framing/box/1396-roommphbest4.jpg